Ned R. McWherter Leadership Award 

Governor McWherter
The Ned R. McWherter Leadership Award annually recognizes an individual who exemplifies outstanding leadership in the pursuit of performance excellence and has furthered performance improvement beyond the boundaries of his or her organization.

Winners are committed to the core values of the Tennessee Center for Performance Excellence and the Baldrige Excellence Framework. The award's namesake is former Tennessee Governor Ned. R. McWherter. Governor McWherter was integral to the formation of TNCPE in 1993.

Nominations for the Ned R. McWherter Leadership Award are solicited from TNCPE Members. The award recipient is selected by the executive committee and confirmed by the full Board of Directors.

image: Governor McWherter, official portrait

Award Winners

  • 2018 Donald C. Fisher, Ph.D.
  • 2017 Jim Duensing
  • 2016 Thom Crosby
  • 2015 Lewis Lavine
  • 2014 Dr. Joe Alexander
  • 2013 Robert Otwell
  • 2012 Dennis Vonderfecht
  • 2011 David J. McClaskey
  • 2010 Dr. R. Michael Browder
  • 2009 Dr. Susan Williams
  • 2008 Ed Scott
  • 2007 Jan McNally
  • 2006 Andy Czuchry
  • 2005 Bob Bell

TNCPE is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization.

2525 Perimeter Place Drive, Suite 122. Nashville, TN 37214-3773. (800)453-6474.