Donald C. Fisher, Ph.D. named 2018 McWherter Leadership Award Winner

Executive Director/CEO of MSQPC-The Quality Center to be honored at the 25th Anniversary Excellence in Tennessee Awards Banquet

fisher-1.PNG Tennessee Center for Performance Excellence (TNCPE) is proud to announce that Donald (Donn) Fisher, Executive Director/CEO of MSQPC­ The Quality Center (Mid­South Quality/Productivity Center), is the recipient of the 2018 Ned R. McWherter Leadership Award.

The Ned R. McWherter Leadership Award annually recognizes an individual who exemplifies outstanding leadership in the pursuit of performance excellence and has worked to further performance improvement beyond the boundaries of his or her organization. Fisher’s commitment to excellence is demonstrated through his strategic partnerships, promotion of continuous improvement principles, and long­standing presence within local and international excellence communities.

“While Donn is a significant presence in the Southeast’s excellence community, his influence is global,” says Katie Rawls, TNCPE president and CEO. “He was a founding member of TNCPE’s board of directors 25 years ago, and has traveled from Memphis to Kuala Lumpur and many places in between, delivering Baldrige principles to myriad organizations. His numerous books on Baldrige extend his reach even further.”

Fisher has served as a judge for numerous regional quality awards programs including TNCPE, the Robert W. Carey Performance Excellence Award, the Arizona State Quality Award, the Commonwealth of Kentucky Quality Award, and the Greater Memphis Award for Quality, among others.

He was an examiner for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and serves on the board of the Alliance for Performance Excellence. McWherter Leadership Award winners can come from any industry sector. They are committed to the core values of TNCPE and the Baldrige Excellence Framework, the nationally recognized
framework that helps organizations align resources; improve communication, productivity, and effectiveness; and achieve strategic goals.

The McWherter Award is named after the 46 th governor of Tennessee, who was instrumental in TNCPE’s founding in 1993. Ned McWherter’s support for the program acknowledged the value of the Baldrige Excellence Framework as an integral tool that can help Tennessee businesses and organizations thrive. Previous honorees include Dr. Bob Bell (President, Tennessee Tech University), Dr. Andy Czuchry (AFG Chair of Excellence, ETSU), Jan McNally (Director, Leadership Development Covenant Health), Robert Otwell (CEO, Maury Regional Medical Center), Ed Scott (Treasurer, Caterpillar, Inc.), Dr. Susan Williams (Professor of Management,
Belmont University), Dr. R. Michael Browder (CEO, Bristol Tennessee Essential Services), David McClaskey (President, Pal’s Business Excellence Institute), Dennis Vonderfecht (CEO, Mountain States Health Alliance), Dr. Joe Alexander (Associate Dean, Jack C. Massey Graduate School of Business at Belmont University), Lewis Lavine (President, Center for Nonprofit Management), Thom Crosby (President and CEO, Pal’s), and Jim Duensing (EVP & CEO, Caterpillar Financial Services Corporation).

Fisher will accept the award at the 2018 Excellence in Tennessee Awards Banquet on Wednesday, February 21, at the Franklin Marriott Cool Springs in Franklin, Tenn.

Ned R. McWherter Award Winners through the years

TNCPE is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization.

PO Box 101310 Nashville, TN 37224. 615-532-4590.